2012 Symposium

The 2012 Symposium titled, “The Future of Intellectual Property,” was held on March 9, 2012 at the Detroit Athletic Club, and consisted of four panels covering the topics of: The Future of Patent Law, The Future of Trademark Law, The Future of Copyright, and The Future of International Intellectual Property Law.

A special thank you to our distinguished panelists.

The Future of Patent Law:

Honorable Judge Avern Cohn
United States District Court, Eastern District of Michigan

Dr. Saby Ghoshray Ph. D.
Institute of Interdisciplinary Studies, President & Director
World Compliance Co.

Denise Glassmeyer
Young Basile Hanlon & MacFarlane P.C.

The Future of Trademark Law:

Tim Gorbatoff
Chief Intellectual Property Counsel
General Motors

Glynn S. Lunney, Jr.
McGlinchey Stafford Professor of Law
Tulane University Law School

The Future of Copyright Law:

Robert Brauneis
Professor of Law; Co-Director of the Intellectual Property Law Program; Co-Director of the Dean Dinwoodey Center for Intellectual Property Studies; Member, Manging Board, Munich Intellectual Property Law Center
George Washington University Law School

Jessica Litman
John F. Nickoll Professor of Law
University of Michigan Law School

Marybeth Peters
Former United States Register of Copyrights

The Future of International Intellectual Property Law:

Myra J. Tawfik
Professor of Law
University of Windsor School of Law (Windsor Law)

Peter K. Yu
Director, Intellectual Property Law Center
Kern Family Chair in Intellectual Property Law at?Drake University Law School

Michele J. Woods
Associate Register for Policy and International Affairs
United States Copyright Office


Michael P. Brennan
Harness, Dickey & Pierce

Charlie Rutherford
Law Offices of Charles R. Rutherford; Retired Shareholder
Dykema Gossett, PLLC

Howard B. Abrams
Professor of Law
University of Detroit Mercy School of Law

Please click here for a copy of the 2012 Symposium program containing more information on our panelists and moderators.